Welcome to Valuable Book Group, specialists in golf books
USGA Award Winners
Each year the United States Golf Association awards one book the Herbert Warren Wind Book Award. The award "acknowledges and encourages outstanding research, writing, and publishing about golf." 

Click on the image of the book to purchase through Amazon.

Award Winner      Click on the image to purchase 
The first winner of the award in 1987 was Al Barkow's Gettin' to the Dance Floor. First hand accounts of the game by early pioneers
The 1989 award was to Phil Pilley for his Golfing Art. 
The 1990 award was for Golf's Magnificent Challenge by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. with Larry Dennis.   
The 1991 is for The St. Andrews Opens by Bobby Burnet.   
The 1992 Award was to Rhonda Glenn for her The Illustrated History of Women's Golf.  
Davis Love III won the 1998 award with him Every Shot I Take. Golf advice from a pro.
The 1998 Award went to Lawrence Donegan's Maybe It Should Have Been a Three-Iron. The story of caddying for a newcomer to the European Tour.  
The 1999 award was for The Making of the Masters by David Owen. There have been dozens of books written about the Masters, this is one of the very best     
The 2000 award was to Sir Walter and Mr. Jones, Stephen Lowe's detailed look at the relationship between Bobby Jones and Walter Hagen.     ;
 The 2001 winner is Discovering Donald Ross: The Architect and His Golf Courses by Bradley Klein ;
The 2002 winner is Mark Frost's The Greatest Game Ever Played which recounts Francis Oiumet's victory in the 1913 US Open at Brookline.  ;
The 2003 winner is Heather and Heaven by Phil Pilley. The book is a club history of Walton Heath Golf Club in the surrey region of London. 
 The 2004 winner is James Dodson's Ben Hogan, An American Life. The book is an authorized biography of Hogan and portays him as warmer and more accessible than most accounts of "the wee ice mon". ;
The 2005 winner is When War Played Through by John Strege. Recounts how golf was kept alive through the Second World War. ;
The 2006 award winner is Where Golf is Great: The Finest Courses of Scotland and Ireland written by James Finegan which we whole-heartedly endorse as a fantastic golf book.   ;
The 2007 award winner is Tommy's Honor: The Story of Old Tom Morris and Young Tom Morris, Golf's Founding Father and Son written by Kevin Cook.   
The 2008 award winner is Tom Morris of St. Andrews: The Colossus of Golf by David Malcolm and Peter E. Crabtree. An intimate portrait of Old Tom, very high quality book.

The 2009 award winner is John de St. Jorre's
The Story of Golf at The Country Club. An absolutely fantastic club history, one of the finest ever produced.


contact us to purchase
The 2010 award winner is Miracle at Merion by David Barrett. The book's subtitle says it all: The Inspiring Story of Ben Hogan's Amazing Comeback and Victory at the 1950 U.S. Open
The 2011 award winner is Wonder Girl: The Magnificent Sporting Life of Babe Didrikson Zaharias by Don Van Natta Jr.   
The 2012 award winner is American Triumvirate: Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, and the Modern Age of Golf by James Dodson 

The 2013 award winner is Merion: The Championship Story by Jeff Silverman 

The 2014 award winner is A Difficult Par: Robert Trent Jones Senior by James Hansen 


To see the U.S.G.A. website regarding its book awards click here